Two eras of Genesis - The development of a rock band by Philipp Röttgers

Genesis – News, Reviews, Interviews

Philipp Röttgers is a music journalist and an absolute expert on the band. He released a book “Two eras of Genesis?: The development of a rock band” in 2015 and interviewed band members and people connected to the band.

Find out everything about Philipp’s favourite group. Genesis is a British rock band and one of the most successful groups in the world. Their hits include „That’s All“, „Invisible Touch“ and „I Can’t Dance“. The group consists of Phil Collins (vocals, drums), Mike Rutherford (guitars, bass) and Tony Banks (keyboards). This blog contains news, reviews and glimpses into Genesis‘ history.

Book description

Genesis is one of the most successful British rock bands, hands down. And a band with a long and diverse career that was able to allow all its members to have also long and diverse solo careers (and in some cases very successful, too). Genesis always seemed to have an invisible touch on their listeners and fans. Starting off as a progressive rock band in the early 1970s with singer Peter Gabriel and his strange costumes and masks, the band changed into a pop band with single hits in the 1980s after he left and drummer Phil Collins took over the microphone.

At least that is the common conception. Philipp Röttgers takes a look beyond and asks if this change even exists or if there is some kind of misunderstanding. He turns it on again and analyzes certain songs from both “eras”. Philipp takes a look at live performances, music videos, album covers and press and fan reviews. He runs through the band’s history. And he also includes the solo careers to find out if their image should be renewed.

On this page, you can find everything Philipp writes about his favourite group.

The blog

  • Genesis history: The “Turn It On Again” reunion tour
    On 11 June 2007, Genesis started their “Turn It On Again” reunion tour in Helsinki. It saw the return of Phil Collins on vocals.
  • Review: Genesis – Archive I 1967 – 1975 (1998)
    In June 1998, Genesis released their first of two “Archive” box sets: “Archive 1967 – 1975” covers the era with Peter Gabriel as lead vocalist.
  • Genesis history: The last show of “The Lamb” tour
    On 22 May 1975, Genesis played the last show of their ambitious “The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway” tour. It was also their last gig with Peter Gabriel as lead singer.
  • Review: Genesis – A Winter’s Tale (1968)
    On 10 May 1968, the second single of Genesis’ first album was released. Like its predecessor and its successor, it flopped. Here’s the tale of “A Winter’s Tale”.
  • Genesis history: Ray Wilson announced as new lead vocalist
    On 6 June 1997, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford of Genesis announce the band’s new lead singer after Phil Collins’ departure: 28 year old Ray Wilson.
  • Review: Genesis – 3×3 (EP/1982)
    In May 1982, Genesis released “3×3”, an extended-play featuring three previously unreleased tracks from their 1981 album “Abacab”.
  • Genesis history: “We Can’t Dance” in Tampa – The story of the 1992 tour
    Tampa, Florida, 17 May 1992. Genesis leave the stage at the fourth show of their gigantic “We Can’t Dance” tour after just two songs. They leave behind an almost rioting audience. The band had to cancel the show after “Land Of Confusion” and “No Son Of Mine” due to Phil Collins’ throat problems. Luckily enough, […]
  • Genesis history: Live at the Roundhouse 1970
    On 11 March 1970, Genesis played one of their biggest gigs of their early career at the Atomic Sunrise Festival at the Roundhouse Club in London. The event featured artists like David Bowie and Hawkwind and was sponsored by Yoko Ono. A few weeks later Genesis signed to the Charisma label.
  • Genesis history: The Rainbow shows in January 1977
    Genesis started their “Wind & Wuthering” tour at the Rainbow Theatre in London on 1st January 1977. They played the venue for three nights. Those shows were the first with Chester Thompson on drums. Also, the tour was the last with guitarist Steve Hackett.
  • Genesis history: Induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010
    On 15 March 2010, Genesis were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Phil Collins, Mike Rutherford, Tony Banks and Steve Hackett were present alongside live members Chester Thompson and Daryl Stuermer. Peter Gabriel did not attend the event. The band was inducted by Phish frontman Trey Anastasio.
  • Review: Genesis – Duke (1980)
    40 years of “Duke”! On this album, Genesis went back to jamming together instead of bringing in individual songs. Let’s take a look back on the album that produced the instant classic “Turn It On Again”.
  • Genesis history: Phil Collins’ departure from Genesis in 1996
    On 28 March 1996, Phil Collins’ departure from Genesis was officially announced in a press release: “Genesis end twenty-year experiment, decide to replace Peter Gabriel as vocalist.” It was the end of an era. Here’s the story of his (temporary) departure.
  • Genesis history: Phil Collins’ first show as frontman
    In 1975, Peter Gabriel left Genesis. After unsuccessfully auditioning for a new singer, drummer Phil Collins took over and sang on “A Trick Of The Tail” (1976), the first album after Gabriel’s departure. But he did not want to sing on the following tour. This is the story of how he became Genesis frontman.
  • Review: Genesis – The Silent Sun (1968)
    In February 1968, Genesis’ debut single “The Silent Sun” was released on Decca Records. Peter Gabriel was just 18 when it came out. Let’s take a look at the band’s first single!
  • Genesis history: Steve Hackett’s first gig with Genesis
    On 14 January 1971, Steve Hackett played his first gig with Genesis at University College, London. It was not the best start for the guitarist. In this blog post we take a look at this day in Genesis history!
  • Review: Genesis – The Longs (1993)
    Genesis will be back onstage in November/December 2020. It will be the first time in 13 years that Phil Collins, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford perform together. Back in 2007 they had their long-time fellow musicians Chester Thompson (drums) and Daryl Stuermer (guitars, bass) with them. This line-up can also be heard on the band’s […]
  • Steve Hackett, Burg Herzberg Festival, 19 July 2013
    In 2012, Steve Hackett once again relived his past with Genesis. He released the album Genesis Revisited II, on which he re-recorded (or should we say “covered”?) old songs from his time in the band. Every song featured another guest vocalist (among them Phil Collins’ son Simon Collins or Steven Wilson). Since then, Steve has […]
  • Review: Phil Collins – Face Value (1981)
    In February 1981, Phil Collins’ first solo album “Face Value” was released. It went straight to number 1 in the UK charts and to number 7 in the US. His debut was his gateway into superstardom and with “In The Air Tonight” it includes his signature track. So let’s take a closer look at the […]
  • Phil Collins, Hyde Park, 30 June 2017
    Genesis has always been my favourite band and Phil Collins has always been my musical hero. Being a drummer myself, I admired him from early on. His fourth solo album “…But Seriously” came out around the time I was born, “Another Day In Paradise” was my lullaby. Phil always was my hero. I caught him […]